City of Kelowna

MEMORANDUM

DATE: July 4, 2003 FILE: 1830-20

TO: City Manager

FROM: Director of Financial Services

RE: Council Appointment of the Library Society Directors

Report Prepared by: Financial Accounting and Systems Manager

RECOMMENDATION:

That Council appoint as Directors of the Library Society Board, Phyllis Payne, Barry Williamson, Eileen Sadlowski and Wayne Wilson effective June 19, 2003 and accept the resignation of William J. Theissen, Dominic A. Petraroia, Ross Langford and Barb Degan.

BACKGROUND:

In 1996, the Library Society was formed to facilitate the borrowing of funds for the library building on Ellis Street. The Board of Directors was appointed by Council, at that time.

During the June 19, 2003 Library Society Annual General Meeting, the Board received resignations from four board members: William J. Theissen, Dominic A. Petraroia, Ross Langford and Barb Degan. The Board then nominated Phyllis Payne, Barry Williamson, Eileen Sadlowski and Wayne Wilson as new directors.

The records of the Library Society will now be handled from the offices of Lidstone, Young Anderson, moving over from the Petraroia Langford Edwards & Rush offices.

Pursuant to the Bylaws of the Society, the municipal council of the City of Kelowna must appoint new members to the society.

The role of the Library Society Board of Directors includes review and approval of Library Society Annual Financial Statements and attendance at the Annual General Meeting.

Paul Macklem	
RM/pb	